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Section 22a-174-26. Fees. 
 
(a) Definitions.  For the purposes of this section: 
 
 (1) "annual fee" means the fee required by section 22a-174a 

of the General Statutes. 
 
 (2) "applicant" means the person filing an application. 
 
 (3) "application" means an application for a permit, or for 

renewal of modification thereof, under section 22a-174 
of the General Statutes. 

 
 (4) "application fee" means the fee required by subsection 

(b) of this section. 
 
 (5) "commissioner" means the commissioner of environmental 

protection. 
 
 (6) "modification" means a modification as defined in 

section 22a-174-1 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies. 

 
 (7) "permit fee" means the fee required by subdivision 

(c)(1) of this section. 
 
 (8) "tentative determination" means a tentative 

determination issued by the commissioner under section 
22a-6h of the General Statutes. 

 
 (9) "TPY" means tons per year. 
 
 (10) The date of issuance of any notice or other document by 

the commissioner is the date of mailing or hand 
delivery, whichever is earlier. 

 
(b) Application fees. 
 
  
(1) Any person who is required to file an application under 
section 22a-174-3a or section 22a-174-19 of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies shall submit with such application an 
application fee of seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). 
 
(2) In addition to the application fee submitted under 
subdivision (1) of this subsection, each person for whom the 
commissioner reviews an application for a permit pursuant to 
section 22a-174-3a of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies, shall pay an additional application fee of one thousand 
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 five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) for: 
 
 (A) Each best available control technology (BACT) review 

required under section 22a-174-3a of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies for a stationary source or 
modification thereof, unless the stationary source or 
modification will have potential emissions of less than 
fifty (50) tons per year of each pollutant for which 
the permit is required or the impact on ambient air 
quality of each of these pollutant emissions is not 
significant as listed in Table 3a(i)-1 set forth in 
section 22a-174-3a(i)(1) of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies; and 

 
 (B) Each lowest achievable emission rate (LAER) review 

required under section 22a-174-3a of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies.  

 
(3) Notwithstanding subdivision (1) of this subsection, the fees 
for an application to change the fuel used to natural gas or 
liquefied propane gas, or to implement a process that will allow 
the use of a cleaner fuel shall be three hundred and seventy-five 
dollars ($375.00).  
 
(4) There is no fee to correct a clerical error in a permit made 
by the commissioner.  
 
(5)  The commissioner shall apply the application fee under 
subdivision (1) or (3) of this subsection to any permit fee 
required by subsection (c) of this section. 
 
(6) Notwithstanding the prior payment of an application fee, an 
applicant shall pay another application fee in accordance with 
subdivisions (1), (2) and (3) of this subsection under either of 
the following circumstances: 
 
 (A) After the commissioner has issued his tentative 

determination on the subject application but before he 
has taken final action thereon, the applicant revises 
the application so as to reflect an anticipated 
increase in emissions; or 

 
 (B) After the commissioner has issued his tentative 

determination on the subject application but before he 
has taken final action thereon, the applicant revises 
the application so as to reflect a change in process. 

 
 
(c) Permit fees. 
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(1) Each person to whom the commissioner issues a permit, or a 
modification or renewal thereto, under section 22a-174-3a, 
section 22a-174-2a and section 22a-174-19 of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies shall pay a permit fee as prescribed 
in the fee schedule in subdivision (2) of this subsection. 
 
(2) The fee schedule is set forth in Table 26-1. 
 
 

 
TABLE 26-1 

PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE 
  

REGULATION UNDER 
WHICH PERMIT IS 

ISSUED 

 
MAJOR 
SOURCE 
(PTE) 

 
LESS THAN 
MAJOR 
SOURCE 
(PTE) 

 
New major stationary 
source 

 
22a-174-

3a(a)(1)(A) 

 
$6,000 

 
NA 

 
Major modification 

 
22a-174-

3a(a)(1)(B) 
 

 
$6,000 

 
NA 

 
New or reconstructed 
major source of 
hazardous air 
pollutants 

 
22a-174-

3a(a)(1)(C) and 
(m) 

 
$6,000 

 
NA 

 
New emission unit 
with potential 
emissions of fifteen 
(15) tons or more per 
year of any 
individual air 
pollutant 

 
 
 

22a-174-
3a(a)(1)(D) 

 
 
 
NA 

 
 
 
$3,000 

 
Modification to an 
existing emission 
unit which increases 
potential emissions 
of any individual air 
pollutant from such 
unit by fifteen (15) 
tons or more per year 

 
 
 

22a-174-
3a(a)(1)(E) 

 

 
 
 
NA 

 
 
 
$3,000 

 
Stationary source 
modification that
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TABLE 26-1 

PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE 
modification that 
becomes a major 
stationary source or 
major modification 
solely by virtue of a 
relaxation in any 
enforceable 
limitation which was 
established after 
August 7, 1980 on the 
capacity of the 
source or 
modification 
otherwise to emit a 
pollutant 

22a-174-
3a(a)(1)(F) 

 

$6,000 NA 

 
New source review 
non-minor permit 
modification 

 
22a-174-2a(d) 

 
 
$3,000 

 
 
$1,500 

 
New source review 
minor permit 
modification 
 

 
22a-174-2a(e) 

 
$3,000 

 
$1,500 

 
Permit revision 

 
22a-174-

2a(f)(2)(B) to 
(G), inclusive  

 
$1,500 

 
$1,500 

 
Permit renewal 

 
22a-174-2a(i) 

 
$3,000 

 
$3,000 

 
Permit for use of 
solid fuel 

 
22a-174-

(19)(a)(2)(i)  

 
$6,000 

 
$3,000 

 
Permit for air 
pollution control 
energy trade 

 
22a-174-

(19)(a)(3) 

 
$15,000 

 
$7,500 
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(3)  Repealed. 

 

(4)  Repealed.   

 

(5)  There is no fee, other than the fees under subsections (d) and (e) of this section, payable 

to the commissioner by the owner or operator of a Title V source to apply for, revise, modify or 

renew a Title V permit issued under section 22a-174-33 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 

Agencies. 

 

(6)  Each person who pays to the commissioner a license transfer fee pursuant to subsection 

(e) of this section shall not be subject to a permit revision fee pursuant to this subsection 

provided that the transfer of ownership and related administrative information are the only 

changes being proposed to the subject permit. 

 

(d)  Emission fees. 

 

(1)  For the purposes of this subsection, the following definitions shall apply: 

 

 "Title V source" means: 

 

(A)  Any stationary source, or any group of stationary sources, where such source is 

located on one or more contiguous or adjacent properties, that is under common 

control of the same person, or persons under common control, and such source or 

sources have potential emissions, including fugitive emissions to the extent 

quantifiable, of, In the aggregate, ten (10) tons or more per year of any hazardous 

air pollutant which has been listed pursuant to section 112 (b) of the Clean Air 

Act, or twenty-five (25) tons or more per year of any combination of such 

hazardous air pollutants; or 
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(B)  Any stationary source, or any group of stationary 
sources, where such source is located on one or more 
contiguous or adjacent properties, that is under common 
control of the same person, or persons under common 
control, and such source or sources belong to the same 
two digit Standard Industrial Classification code, as 
published by the United States Office of Management and 
Budget (OMB) in the Standard Industrial Classification 
Manual of 1987, and such source or sources have 
potential emissions, including fugitive emissions to 
the extent quantifiable, of: 

 

  (i) One hundred (100) tons or more per year of any air 
pollutant;  

 

  (ii) Fifty (50) tons or more per year of any volatile 
organic compounds or nitrogen oxides in a serious 
ozone nonattainment area; or  

 

   (iii)Twenty-five (25) tons or more per year of volatile 
organic compounds or nitrogen oxides in a severe 
ozone nonattainment area. 

 

"1990 inventory" means the inventory submitted by the 
Department to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency on 
January 13, 1994 which for stationary source is emissions of 
133,665 tons per year for 1990.   

 

(2) The owner or operator of a Title V source shall pay an 
emission fee each year to the Department. The emission fee paid 
shall be the amount calculated under subdivision (4) of this 
subsection, unless the provisions of subdivision (6) of this 
subsection apply, in which case the emission fee paid shall be 
the amount specified in subdivision (6) of this subsection. 
Commencing July 1, 1995, payment to the Department shall be due 
by July 1 each year, based on the emissions during the previous 
calendar year.   

 

(3)  The emission fee shall be based on emissions of the 
following:   

 

(A) Nitrogen oxides;  
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(B) Any volatile organic compound;  

 

(C) Any pollutant for which an ambient air quality standard 
has been listed in subsections (d) to (l), inclusive, 
of section 22a-174-24 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies;  

 

(D) Any pollutant that is subject to any standard 
promulgated under section 111 of the Clean Air Act;  

 

(E) Any Class I or II substance, listed in 42 U.S.C. 7671a, 
subject to a standard promulgated under or established 
by Title VI of the Clean Air Act; and  

 

(F) Any hazardous air pollutant subject to a standard 
promulgated or other requirement established under 
section 112 of the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 7412).   

 

(4)  Emission fee determination.  The emission fee shall be based 
upon the actual emissions of all regulated air pollutants as 
identified in subdivision (3) of this subsection, from any 
emission units at the source according to the following equation: 

 

  emission fee = (A)*(B)*(C) 

 

 Where: 

 

(A) Is the Total Actual Premise Emissions, which is the 
premise's actual emissions of the pollutants specified 
in subdivision (3) of this subsection from all emitting 
units located at the premise as reported in the 
emissions inventory for the previous calendar year 
which is on file with the Department.  The sum of the 
Total Actual Premise Emissions shall be raised to the 
next whole ton;  
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(B) Is the per ton fee, which is equal to twenty-five 
dollars ($25.00) per ton in 1989 dollars multiplied by 
the ratio of the Consumer Price Index for all-urban 
consumers published by the United States Department of 
Labor, as of August 31 of the previous calendar year, 
to the Consumer Price Index for August 1989; and  

 

(C) Is the Inventory Stabilization Factor, which is a value 
equal to the total actual emissions of 133,665 tons per 
year from stationary sources in the 1990 Inventory 
divided by the total statewide stationary source actual 
emissions from the previous calendar year.  The 
quotient shall be rounded to the second decimal place. 
 If the Inventory Stabilization Factor is less than one 
(1.00), one (1.00) shall be used as the Inventory 
Stabilization Factor.  The commissioner shall, thirty 
days prior to application of the Inventory 
Stabilization Factor, file with the Secretary of the 
Office of Policy and Management a report describing the 
calculation of the Inventory Stabilization Factor with 
relevant supporting documentation.  Such report shall 
also describe expenditures of the previous year's 
emission based fees collected pursuant to this 
subsection.   

 
(5) The commissioner may reduce the Inventory Stabilization 
Factor set forth in subdivision (4)(C) of this subsection 
applicable to the prior calendar year emissions, if the 
commissioner finds that the Air Emissions Permit Operating Fee 
account balance, by itself, will be sufficient on or about July 
1st to cover two years of Title V program expenses. The Inventory 
Stabilization Factor shall not be reduced to less than one 
(1.00).  The commissioner shall not adjust the Inventory 
Stabilization Factor in such a manner as to collect fees that 
will result in the balance in the Air Emissions Permit Operating 
Fee account being insufficient to cover two years of Title V 
program expenses. The determination of what constitutes a Title V 
program expense under this subdivision shall be in the sole 
discretion of the commissioner and in accordance with section 
502(b)(3) of the Clean Air Act.    
   
(6) Notwithstanding subdivision (4) of this subsection, the 
emission fee shall be: 
 



May 26, 2004         Page 26-9 
 
 

(A)  Effective July 1, 2004, one thousand dollars 
($1,000.00) for each Title V source for which the 
emission fee calculated under subdivision (4) of this 
subsection was less than one thousand dollars 
($1,000.00). Effective July 1, 2005, two thousand five 
hundred dollars ($2,500.00) for each Title V source for 
which the emission fee calculated under subdivision (4) 
of this subsection was less than two thousand five 
hundred dollars ($2,500.00).  Effective July 1, 2006, 
five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) for each Title V 
source for which the emission fee calculated under 
subdivision (4) of this subsection was less than five 
thousand dollars ($5,000.00); and 

 
(B)  Five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000.00), adjusted 

for inflation from August 31, 1989, for each Title V 
source for which the emission fee calculated under 
subdivision (4) of this subsection was more than five 
hundred thousand dollars ($500,000.00), adjusted for 
inflation from August 31, 1989.  "Adjusted for 
inflation" for the purposes of this subparagraph means, 
an increase to the emission fee by multiplying such fee 
by the ratio of the Consumer Price Index for all urban 
consumers published by the United States Department of 
Labor as of August 31 of the previous calendar year, to 
the Consumer Price Index for August 1989.  

 

(7) Late fee.  A late fee of ten percent (10%) of the emission 
fee or fifty dollars ($50), whichever is greater, shall be 
charged, in addition to any other fee required by this 
subsection, if an owner or operator of a Title V source fails to 
submit the required emission fee when due.  The owner or operator 
of such Title V source shall pay an additional one and one 
quarter percent (1.25%) per month of the amount of all emission 
fees required by this subsection which remain unpaid after the 
first day of each month.  This subdivision shall not prevent the 
commissioner from pursuing other remedies available by statute or 
regulation.   

 
(8) Municipal emission fees.  Any emission fee charged to a 
municipality pursuant to this subsection shall be fifty percent 
(50%) of the emission fee owed pursuant to subdivisions (4) or 
(6) of this subsection, whichever subdivision is applicable.  
 

(9) An emission fee required under this subsection shall be paid 
in an amount rounded to the nearest whole dollar.  
 



May 26, 2004         Page 26-10 
 
 

 
(e) Transfer fee.  Each person registering a proposed transfer of 
a license with the commissioner under section 22a-6o of the 
Connecticut General Statutes shall submit with such registration 
a transfer fee of seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). 
 
(f) General permit fee. Each person filing a registration for 
approval to operate under a general permit issued under 
subsection (l) of section 22a-174 of the general statutes shall 
submit with such registration a fee of two-hundred and fifty 
($250.00) dollars.  
 
(g) Annual fees. 
 
(1) There is no fee for any annual inspection conducted under 
section 22a-174a of the General Statutes. 
 
(2) There is no fee for a biennial registration submitted 
pursuant to section 22a-174-2 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies. 
 
 
(h) Emission test fees.  In addition to any other fee required by 
this section, the owner or operator of a stationary source who is 
required by any statute, regulation, permit or order administered 
or issued by the commissioner to conduct an emission test or to 
install or operate a continuous emission monitor shall pay  
three-hundred and seventy-five dollars ($375.00) to the 
commissioner per day or part thereof for each Department employee 
who conducts or observes such test or the installation of such 
continuous emission monitor; provided that if such owner or 
operator is subject to section 22a-232 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes, he shall not be required to pay the fee established by 
this subsection. 
 
 
(i) Payment of fees. 
 
(1) Any fee required under this section shall be paid by check 
or money order payable to the Department of Environmental 
Protection, which shall state on its face, for an application 
fee, "Air Management Application Fee", for an emission fee, "Air 
Management Emission Fee", and for any other fee, "Air Management 
Fee." 
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(2)  Except as otherwise provided by this section, any fee 
required by this section shall be submitted within the time 
specified by the commissioner.  If neither this section nor the 
commissioner specifies a time for submitting payment, payment 
shall be due within 30 days of written notice by the commissioner 
that such fee is required. 
 
 
(j) Failure to pay fee.  The commissioner shall not process an 
application for a permit or other authorization under section 
22a-174 of the General Statutes unless all fees required by this 
section have been paid in full. 
 
(k) Late fee.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, an 
applicant or permittee who fails to pay when due any fee required 
by this section shall pay an additional five percent (5%) of the 
amount of such fee for each month or part thereof that such fee 
is overdue. 
 
(l) Municipal fees.  In accordance with subsection (i) of section 
22a-174 of the general statutes, any fee under this section due 
from a municipality shall be reduced by fifty percent (50%). 
 
(m) Refunds. 
 
(1) If (A) the commissioner determines that the permit or other 
authorization or approval sought by an application is not 
required by law, or an applicant revises a pending application so 
as to decrease the permit fee that would otherwise be required by 
this section if the permit sought by such applicant were granted, 
and (B) the commissioner has not yet published his tentative 
determination on such application, the commissioner shall retain 
one half of the application fee or general permit fee paid and 
shall refund to the applicant the balance thereof. 
 
(2) If an application fee is submitted with an application for 
an individual permit under section 22a-174 of the General 
Statutes, and the commissioner determines (A) that a general 
permit has been issued under subsection (l) of such section with 
respect to the activity for which such application seeks a 
permit, and (B) that the general permit fee for authorization 
under such general permit is less than the application fee paid 
with the individual permit application, the commissioner shall 
deduct the general permit fee from the application fee paid, 
retain such deducted amount, and refund the remainder to the 
applicant. 
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(3) If, immediately prior to permit issuance, all fees paid by 
an applicant exceed the sum of all fees required under this 
section, the commissioner shall refund the excess payment to the 
applicant. 

(4) If the owner or operator of a Title V source pays an 
emission fee under subsection (d) of this section in excess of 
the fee actually due, the commissioner shall refund to such owner 
or operator the portion of the fee paid which is excessive.   

(5) The owner or operator of a source subject to the emission 
fee in subsection (d) of this section may dispute the amount of 
such fee only by submitting, in writing, to the commissioner an 
explanation of the reason for the dispute.  If the commissioner 
determines that he erroneously calculated emissions from the 
subject source, he shall refund to such owner or operator the 
excess amount, provided such owner or operator timely paid the 
entire fee assessed under subsection (d) of this section and 
submitted such written explanation prior to or simultaneously 
with such payment. 

(6) There shall be no refunds other than as specified in this 
subsection. 
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