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TO:  All Medical Discount Plans Licensed in Connecticut 

SUBJECT:  Permitted Use of Marketers under Public Act No. 08-181 
 

Effective October 1, 2008, a new Connecticut Law (Public Act No. 08-181) allows  
Medical Discount Plans (MDPs) licensed in Connecticut to utilize Marketers to sell 
medical discount plan cards on behalf of a licensed MDP.  A Marketer is now permitted 
to sell the licensed MDP’s products under its own (re-branded) name, without having to 
obtain its own license. A “Marketer” is defined in the law as follows: 
 
 “Marketer” means a person that markets, advertises or sells a medical discount plan, 
including, but not limited to, an entity that markets, advertises or sells a medical discount 
plan under its own name. 
 
In order for a licensed MDP to use a Marketer which rebrands and sells an MDP card 
program under the Marketer’s name, the MDP must: 
 

(1) have a written agreement in place with the Marketer, which requires the MDP to 
approve all marketing materials, 

(2) (a) notify the Connecticut Insurance Department (“Department”) in advance of its 
use of the Marketer(s) and provide the Department with the name, address, and 
telephone number of the Marketer(s),  

(b) provide an accurate list of the MDP’s Marketers on its initial MDP license 
application and an updated list at its annual license renewal,   

 (c) provide individual electronic updates of Marketer information to the 
Department in advance of the use of a Marketer, 

(3) ensure that the name, address, and telephone number of the licensed MDP is 
present on plan materials (in addition to the Marketer name); 

(4) ensure that the Marketer does not contract directly with providers or provider 
networks, and, 

(5) directly approve all advertising and marketing materials, including brochures and 
medical discount plan cards, prior to the usage of such materials by the Marketer. 

 



Please note that under the law the licensed MDP is bound by and responsible for the acts 
of a Marketer, within the scope of the Marketer’s agency relationship with the MDP. 
 
Enforcement 
 
In addition to permitting the use of Marketers by licensed MDPs, as described above, the 
new law also provides additional authority to the Commissioner to enforce statutory 
compliance, including: 
 

1) specific authority to order the licensed MDP to immediately remove a Marketer 
from the MDP’s list of authorized Marketers when materials are used in violation 
of the statutes, 

 
2) the authority to order  the licensed MDP to return membership fees paid by state 

residents who were harmed by the violation, 
 

3) a requirement that during an investigation by the Commissioner, the MDP must 
make available a copy of the contract between the MDP and the Marketer, and   

 
4) a requirement that the MDP cooperate in any investigation of the Marketer as 

ordered by the Commissioner.   
 
 
Also, under Public Act (08-178), effective October 1, 2008, the maximum levels of fines 
set for violations of Connecticut’s MDP Laws have increased. The new maximums are 
$3,000 for a violation of Section 38a-479rr, and $15,000 for a violation of Section 38a-
479qq, of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Please contact the Insurance Department’s Fraud, Licensee Investigation and Compliance 
Unit at 860-297-3921 with any questions. 
 
                                                                
 
 

        

  
             Thomas R. Sullivan 
             Insurance Commissioner 
 
 

 


