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August 7,2009 

TO: 	 ALL COMPANIES LICENSED TO WRITE PROPERTY AND CASUALTY 
INSURANCE 

RE: 	 CANCELLATION AND NONRENEWAL OF PERSONAL AND COMMERCIAL 
INSURANCE POLICIES 

RENEWAL PREMIUM BILLING REQUIREMENTS FOR PERSONAL AND 
COMMERCIAL INSURANCE POLICIES 

Bulletin PC-42-09 supersedes Insurance Department Bulletin PC-42-04 and Bulletin PC-42 
pertaining to the cancellation or nonrenewal of insurance policies in Connecticut. Section I.B. of 
this Bulletin has been modified to address the requirements concerning cancellation and non- 
renewal of such policies. Insurance companies should distribute this Bulletin PC-42-09 to all 
areas of the company involved with decisions to terminate or continue to insure Connecticut 
risks. When making a filing for a multi-year policy, companies are instructed to complete the 
appropriate checklist and confirm Department requirements for issuance of multi-year policies. 
The Department examines each policy nonrenewal or cancellation based on the facts and 
circumstances specific to the particular action to determine compliance with the requirements of 
Connecticut law and approved policy provisions. Nonrenewal or cancellation notices that do not 
comply with Connecticut requirements are considered invalid. 

I. 	 CANCELLATION AND NONRENEWAL OF PERSONAL AND COMNIERCIAL 
INSURANCE POLICIES 

Statutes that govern the cancellation or nonrenewal of policies are: 

Personal Lines: Conn. Gen. Stat. $8 38a-170, 38a-307, 38a-323, 38a-323a. to 38a-323c.. 38a- 
341 to 38a-345, 38a-358 and 38a-975 to 38a-998. Please be aware that Public Act No. 09-98 
(effective October 1,2009) limits the fees that can be imposed if the insured cancels a private 
passenger motor vehicle policy prior to its expiration. It provides that if an insured cancels such 
policy prior to its expiration date, the insurer may not charge any fee or other charge for 
cancellation exceeding one hundred ($100) dollars in the aggregate. 

Commercial Lines (excluding Workers' Compensation): Conn. Gen. Stat. $5 38a-170, 38a- 
323 to 38a-326 and 47-255(g). 

Workers' Compensation: Conn. Gen. Stat. $8 31-321, 3 1-348, 38a-170 and 38a-323. 
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The Department considers these statutes, together with Chapter 704, Unfair and Prohibited 
Practices and individual insurance policy provisions, when examining a policy nonrenewal or 
cancellation. Generally, an insurer's noncompliance with nonrenewal or cancellation 
requirements invalidates the action and entitles the insured to either renewal or reinstatement of 
the policy. In addition, the insurer is subject to appropriate fines and penalties imposed by the 
Department. 

A. Statement Of The Specific Reason For The Company's Action Required 

1. Connecticut law requires that the advance notice of nonrenewal or cancellation be 
accompanied by a statement of the reason for the company's action. 

2. The notice must provide a specific reason for the insurer's action. Nonspecific reasons such 
as "claims experience", "underwriting judgment" or "increase in hazard" are unacceptable. 
Nonspecific reasons do not provide the definitive notice necessary to enable the insured to 
remedy the circumstance causing the company's action. 

If the reason is increase in hazard, the specific hazard increase must be listed on the notice or 
must accompany the notice. 

For personal lines insurance if the reason is losses, the loss dates, type, and amounts paid or 
incurred must be listed on the notice or must accompany the notice. If motor vehicle violations 
are also part of the reason, the date, type, and individual involved must be included on the notice. 

For commercial lines insurance if the reason is losses, the minimum information that shall be 
provided is the number of losses and the total amount incurred for each policy year. 

3. The routine issuance of nonrenewal or cancellation notices or the use of nonspecific or 
nonexistent reasons for such action is improper and fails to provide the notice required by 
Connecticut law. This is considered an attempt to circumvent statutory notice requirements of 
Connecticut law. 

4. Companies may not routinely issue or include notice of nonrenewal or notice of cancellation 
for nonpayment coincident with the premium billing or payment notice. Notice of cancellation 
for nonpayment of premium should not be issued until after nonpayment has occurred, meaning 
after the insurer has failed to receive payment by the due date. It is an improper practice to 
terminate coverage using a reason that does not exist at the time notice is given. 

5. When a policy is cancelled for material misrepresentation, the notice or accompanying 
statement shall indicate that the cancellation is due to material misrepresentation and specify the 
reasons. It cannot be accomplished by implication. 

Examples: 

INCORRECT AND UNACCEPTABLE: "You are cancelled for failure to report three 
violations (1-3-02, 6-7-02, 2- 12-03) on your application." 



CORRECT: "You are cancelled for material misrepresentation. You did not report three 
speeding violations for John Doe (1-3-02, 6-7-02, 2- 12-03) on your application." 

B. Compliance With Minimum Advance Notice Requirements 

1. Various sections of the Connecticut General Statutes and Regulations specify minimum time 
standards with which an insurer must comply when notifying an insured of a cancellation, 
nonrenewal or renewal billing. The advance notice requirements of such statutes contemplate 
24-hour days, not portions thereof. 

2. Compliance with the minimum notice standards is determined by counting the number of 
calendar days beginning with the first day after the date of mailing of the transaction up to, but 
not including, the date the transaction is effective. The date of mailing is evidenced by (a) the 
postmark date on the envelope; (b) a copy of the completed receipt that it was sent by registered 
mail or certified mail; or (c) a certificate of mailing from the U. S. Post Office. If the transaction 
is delivered in person by the insurer to the insured, this should be evidenced by a signed receipt 
from the insured. 

3. Notice of nonrenewal must be given to the insured a minimum number of days in advance of 
the effective nonrenewal date for personal and commercial policies, including workers' 
compensation. Insurers may not extend the current policy past the expiration date in order to 
meet the minimum advance number of days notice. The term "expiration date" as used herein 
shall mean the date upon which coverage under a policy ends. It shall also mean, with respect to 
personal and commercial risk insurance policies (excluding workers' compensation policies) 
written for a policy term greater than one year or with no fixed expiration date, each annual 
anniversary date of such policy. 

4. With respect to an automobile or homeowners policy, each insurer that sends or delivers a 
notice of cancellation or nonrenewal shall use the same method to send or deliver such notice to 
any third party designated pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. 5 38a-323a. 

5. Compliance with the advance nonrenewal notice requirements is required where an insurer 
proposes to discontinue providing coverage in one company within a group of companies and 
proposes to write the insured in another company within the same group of companies. An 
exception to this requirement is when the transfer of the policy to an affiliate is due to a merger 
or acquisition. Such transfer requires at least sixty (60) days notice to the insured prior to the 
transfer but shall not require a nonrenewal or cancellation of the policy. See Conn. Gen. Stat. 
538a-330. 

C. Cancellation For Nonpayment 

1. Various sections of the Connecticut General Statutes govern the cancellation of insurance 
policies due to nonpayment of premium. For most policies, ten (10) days advance notice is 
required for the reason nonpayment of premium. For professional liability policies as defined in 
Conn. Gen. Stat. 5 38a-393, ninety (90) days advance notice is required pursuant to Conn. Gen. 
Stat. 5 38a-324. For workers' compensation policies, cancellation shall not become effective 



until fifteen (1 5) days after notice of such cancellation has been filed with the Chairman of the 
Workers' Compensation Commission. See Conn. Gen. Stat. $3 1-348. 

2. An insurer may not cancel a paid-to-date policy due to "nonpayment" based on unpaid 
premium due on another policy. The nonpayment of premium provision permitted by statute 
may not be used based on unpaid premium due under another policy or the prior year's policy 
payment plan. These are separate contracts of insurance and must be treated as such by the 
insurer. 

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 2 above, with respect to the renewal policy of an auditable policy 
such as general liability, commercial automobile, or workers' compensation, a renewal of an 
auditable policy may be cancelled for the reason "nonpayment of premium" based on the 
insured's nonpayment of the audit premium due on the prior year's policy (the renewed policy). 
This recognizes the pricing procedures of certain commercial policies that use estimated 
exposures to estimate premium. Standard audit pricing procedures are not premium finance or 
premium payment plans. Insurers are expected to afford policyholders a reasonable period to 
pay additional audit premium. Individual circumstances will determine what is reasonable and 
will normally reflect the size of the risk, the amount of the audit in relation to the original 
premium and current economic conditions. 

4. An insurer may not cancel a paid-to-date policy using the statutory ten (1 0) day cancellation 
for "nonpayment" based on an unpaid premium finance or premium payment plan of another or 
prior policy. The insurer controls the payment schedules and rules. Special procedures apply to 
financed policies that protect the insurer and allow it to collect premium due under the finance or 
payment plan. 

D. Guidelines Regarding The Use of Conditional Renewal Notices 

1. If an insurer intends to continue to insure a risk, either commercial or personal, but under 
terms or conditions less favorable than previously provided, the insurer must notify the insured 
by either sending a notice of nonrenewal or a conditional renewal notice. 

The conditional renewal notice must clearly state or be accompanied by a clear statement that 
identifies terms or conditions that may be less favorable to the insured under the ensuing policy. 

2. Any significant reduction of coverage requires either a notice of nonrenewal or a conditional 
renewal notice. Some examples where conditional renewal notices are appropriate are: 

An increase in the policy's deductible or retention. 
A decrease in the limits of coverage. 
A new exclusion or deletion of coverage. 

3. The conditional renewal notice must comply with the advance number of days required by 
statute for nonrenewal of the particular type of policy. 
The conditional renewal notice must be sent by (a) registered or certified mail; (b) by mail 
evidenced by a United States Post Office certificate of mailing; or (c) delivered by -the insurer to 
the insured by the required date. 
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4. The Department will not consider an insurer to be in violation of the requirements of Conn. 
Gen. Stat. 5 38a-323 if the insurer provides a conditional renewal notice that gives the insured 
the advance number of days required by statute for nonrenewal, together with the statement of 
less favorable terms or conditions. 

E. Remedy For Failure To Provide The Required Notice Of Nonrenewal Or Conditional 
Renewal Notice 

Failure of the insurer or its agent to provide the insured with the required notice of nonrenewal or 
with a conditional renewal notice shall entitle the insured to a renewal of the policy for a term of 
not less than one year on the same terms (not including premium) as the expiring policy and the 
privilege of pro-rata cancellation at the lower of the current or previous year rates if exercised by 
the insured within sixty (60) days from the renewal or anniversary date. 

11. RENEWAL PRENIIUM BILLING REQUIREMENTS FOR PERSONAL AND 
COMMERCIAL INSURANCE POLICIES 

Conn. Gen. Stat. 5 38a-323 governs the renewal premium billing requirements for personal and 
commercial risk insurance polices. 

A. Renewal premium billing notice requirements do not apply to: 

(a) Workers' Compensation policies; 

(b) Commercial insurance policies if the premium for the ensuing policy period is to 
increase less than ten (10%) percent on an annual basis; or 

(c) Policies for which the preceding annual premium is $50,000 or more. 

B. Compliance With Advance Notice Requirements 

1. For personal and commercial risk insurance polices (other than a liability policy where a 
municipality is the named insured), a premium billing notice shall be mailed or delivered to the 
insured by the company or its agent not less than thirty (30) days in advance of the policy's 
renewal or anniversary date. 

2. The advance premium billing notice for a liability policy where a municipality is the named 
insured shall be sixty (60) days. 

3. Compliance with the minimum advance notice standards is determined by counting the 
number of calendar days beginning with the first day after the date of mailing of the notice up to, 
but not including, the renewal or anniversary date of the policy. The date of mailing is evidenced 
by (a) the postmark date on the envelope; (b) a copy of the completed receipt that it was sent by 



registered mail or certified mail; or (c) a certificate of mailing from the U. S. Post Office. If the 
notice is delivered to the insured in person by the company or agent, this should be evidenced by 
a signed receipt from the insured. 

4. Renewal premium billing notices must state the actual renewal premium. The routine issuance 
of premium billing notices with the statement that the premium will increase by some percentage 
is improper and fails to provide the notice required by law. 

C. Remedy For Failure To Provide The Required Premium Billing Notice 

Failure of the insurer or its agent to provide the insured with the required premium billing notice 
shall entitle the insured to renewal of the policy for a term of not less than one year and the 
privilege of pro-rata cancellation at the lower of the current or previous year rates if exercised by 
the insured within sixty (60) days from the renewal or anniversary date. 

For information on this bulletin, please contact the Connecticut Insurance Department, Property 
and Casualty Division at 860-297-3867 or by e-mail to cid.pc@ct.gov. 
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