CSAO: Unemployment Compensation Fraud Unit

Unemployment Compensation Fraud Unit
STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Benefit Payment Control Unit

Reporting Unemployment Fraud

If you suspect someone is working and collecting unemployment benefits at the same time and not reporting their earnings, you may report them anonymously to the Labor Department.  Please provide as may details as possible:

  • Name of Suspected Individual (required)
  • Address
  • Phone Number
  • Social Security Number
  • Name, address and phone number of employer
  • Dates of employment

Other helpful information includes a physical description of the person(s), the type of car they drive, a photograph, social media site, etc.

If you want to report possible fraud by an employer, please enter this information at the bottom of the online form.

If you wish to be contacted, please provide your name and phone number.

To report fraud, call the Fraud Hotline at 1-800-894-3490, or use this  online form.

The Unemployment Compensation Fraud Unit was established in the Office of the Chief State's Attorney in 2011 as one component of "Chasing Cheaters" partnership between the Division of Criminal Justice and the Connecticut Department of Labor. The unit is financed with funding provided  by the U.S. Department of Labor for integrity initiatives.

The unit is comprised of two inspectors and a prosecutor who work with the Labor Department to prosecute cases of fraud. Investigations are initiated through tips from the public as well as through analysis of Labor Department records and data utilizing integrity software and surveillance tools.

Unemployment benefits have been designated as economic support for individuals who have become unemployed through no fault of their own. The benefits are funded by employers doing business in Connecticut.

The "Chasing Cheaters" partnership has resulted in the recovery of more than $1 million paid in fraudulent Unemployment Compensation claims and the arrests of nearly 150 people charged with illegally collecting more than $3.5 million in benefits, most often people who improperly collected benefits when they were, in fact, working.

Unemployment Compensation Fraud in excess of $500 is a Class D felony punishable by not less than 1 year nor more than 5 years in prison and/or up to a $5,000 fine. Individuals accused of Unemployment Compensation Fraud are also subject to prosecution for Larceny, which carries the possibility of a prison sentence and fine as well.

To contact the Unemployment Compensation Fraud Unit:

Unemployment Compensation Fraud Unit
Office of the Chief State's Attorney
300 Corporate Place
Rocky Hill, Connecticut 06067

Telephone: (860) 258-3309

Fax: (860) 258-5968



Content Last Modified on 2/26/2016 3:41:24 PM