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Applying for Reinstatement of Pharmacist Licensure  

- INSTRUCTIONS - 
 

License to Practice Pharmacy Lapsed for More than Two Years but Less than Five Years 
A pharmacist whose license has lapsed for more than two years shall submit a statement 
signed under the penalty of false statement that the continuing education requirement has 
been satisfactorily completed in each of the years in the two-year period prior to the year of 
the application for renewal. 
 
1) Please submit a statement signed under the penalty of false statement that the continuing 

education requirement has been satisfactorily completed for the two-year period prior to 
the year of application for renewal and copies of your continuing education certificates 
for the two-year period prior to the year of application to the Department of Consumer 
Protection, Commission of Pharmacy, 165 Capitol Avenue, Room 147, Hartford, CT 
06106. 

2) Please include a nonrefundable fee of $60.00 per year for the renewal of a 
pharmacist license and a nonrefundable late fee of $10.00 per year along with the 
item(s) stated above.  The fee should be in the form of a personal check, bank 
check or money order made payable to 'Treasurer, State of Connecticut'. 

3) After the Commission of Pharmacy receives a statement under the penalty of false 
statement that the continuing education requirement has been satisfactorily completed for 
the two-year period prior to the year of application, copies of your continuing education 
certificates for the two-year period prior to the year of application and the appropriate 
nonrefundable fee, your license to practice pharmacy in the State of Connecticut will be 
activated. 

 
License to Practice Pharmacy Lapsed for Five Years or more 

The Commission shall not grant a renewal license to an applicant who has not held a license 
authorized by the Commission within five years of the date of expiration unless the applicant 
has passed an examination satisfactory to the Commission and has paid the required fee. 
 

Pharmacists Licensed By Reciprocity to Practice in the State of Connecticut 
Pharmacists licensed by reciprocity to practice pharmacy in the State of Connecticut and who 
have allowed their license to lapse for five years or more must complete the reciprocity 
process again.  The procedure for obtaining pharmacist licensure by reciprocity to the State 
of Connecticut can be found on our website, www.ct.gov/dcp or directly from NABP at 
www.nabp.net.  
 
 



Pharmacists Licensed By Examination to Practice in the State of Connecticut 
Pharmacists licensed by examination to practice pharmacy in the State of Connecticut and 
who have allowed their license to lapse for five years or more must satisfactorily complete 
the continuing education requirement for the two-year period prior to the year of application, 
pay the required fee and successfully pass the Multi-state Pharmacy Jurisprudence 
Examination (MPJE). 

 
1) Please submit a letter requesting reinstatement along with copies of your continuing 

education certificates for the two-year period prior to the year of application to the 
Department of Consumer Protection, Commission of Pharmacy, 165 Capitol Avenue, Room 
147, Hartford, CT 06106. 

2) Please include the nonrefundable fee of $200 for the issuance of a pharmacist license to the 
Department of Consumer Protection, Central Licensing, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 
06106.  The fee should be in the form of a personal check, bank check or money order made 
payable to 'Treasurer, State of Connecticut'. 

3) A minimum score of 75 is required to successfully complete the MPJE Examination. 
§ The State of Connecticut has contracted with the National Association of 

the Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) to administer the Multi-state Pharmacy Jurisprudence 
Examination (MPJE).  The fee for taking the MPJE is $200. 

§ To apply for the MPJE exam, you should obtain the National Association of Boards of 
Pharmacy's NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin.  
v The NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin is available in a PDF format on the 

Association’s Web site, www.nabp.net.   
v The Internet-based registration form and credit card payment fee process is 

available on the Association’s Web site, www.nabp.net, and allows for rapid 
registration and convenience.  

 
Once you have submitted all necessary information and have registered to take the MPJE, 
you will receive an "Authorization to Test" directly from Pearson VUE (usually via e-
mail) that contains the following information: 
01.) MPJE Examination Dates 
02.) Test Authorization Number 
03.) Candidate Identification Number 
04.) Expiration Date 
 
Once you receive the "Authorization to Test", you may make an appointment at an 
appropriate testing center to complete the test. 

4.) After successful completion of the MPJE, your license to practice pharmacy in the State 
of Connecticut will be activated. 

 
Any questions concerning the reinstatement process may be directed to the Commission of 

Pharmacy at DCP.PharmacistLicense@ct.gov or 860-713-6070. 
 
 

 


