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In 1982, when Connecticut was making legislative history
by pioneering the country’s first Lemon Law to aid owners
of defective new automobiles, the average cost of a new
automobile was just under $10,000. Today, given the
greater variety of passenger vehicle models and technology
choices, the average passenger vehicle sells for nearly
three times that amount.

Since its inception more than twenty years ago,
Connecticut’'s Lemon Law has been fine-tuned to provide
even greater consumer protection. Our Automobile Dispute
Arbitration Program has returned over $60 million over
time in refunds and replacement automobiles.

We proudly offer this booklet as a helpful consumer guide
to the Lemon Law process in Connecticut.



The Lemon.

It's every car owner’s nightmare.

Your dream car spends more time in the repair shop than on the
road, while you watch the “clock” on your manufacturer’s new car
warranty ticking away.

Now there’s help. If you own a “lemon” purchased or leased in

Connecticut, you may be eligible for the State’s “Lemon Law”
arbitration program.

What is the Lemon Law?

Actually, the “Lemon Law” is a nickname for Connecticut General
Statute Chapter 743b, “Automobile Warranties.” It establishes
arbitration as an informal process for resolving disputes between
consumers and automobile manufacturers.

The law defines a lemon as a new motor vehicle (passenger car,
combination, or motorcycle) purchased or leased in Connecticut
which does not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty
and which, after “a reasonable number of attempts,” cannot be
repaired.



What does the Lemon Law cover?

The Lemon Law covers vehicles that are registered as
“passenger,” “combination” or “motorcycle” that are purchased or
leased new in Connecticut. Other types of vehicles do not fall
under the purview of the Connecticut Lemon Law. Covered
vehicles are those that:

* Do not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty;

» Have substantial defects affecting the use, safety or value
of the vehicle, and the repairs had been addressed during
the eligibility period.*

» Have manufacturer’s defects that occurred during the first
two years from the original owner’s delivery date or the

first 24,000 miles on the odometer (whichever period ends
first).

*The time period involved may be extended when repair service is
unavailable due to war, strike or natural disaster.

When can | apply?

The eligibility criteria for the Lemon Law arbitration refers to
occurrences / days that must be met within the specified time
frame. You do not have to apply within this time period.

What is not covered?

» Defects not covered under the manufacturer’s express
warranty

» Defects caused by the consumer’s abuse, neglect or
unauthorized modification of the vehicle
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What's a reasonable number of attempts?

The same problem has to be subjected to a reasonable number
of repair attempts and continue to exist after these attempts at
repair. The law presumes that a “reasonable number” is four.
However, if you have less than four repair attempts for the same
problem, and can justify this as a reasonable number of repair
attempts, and repairs have been performed within the eligibility
period.

OR

When the vehicle has been out of service for repair at the
dealership for a cumulative total of thirty days or more for any
number of unrelated problems. These problems must occur within
the eligibility period.

OR

In the case of a safety defect which is likely to cause death or
serious injury if the vehicle is driven, the defect continues to exist
after two or more attempts during the first year of operation or the
term of the express warranty, whichever period end first.

I've decided to use the Department of
Consumer Protection’s Arbitration Program.

What should | do?

You should obtain the Lemon Law “Request for Arbitration” form
by contacting the Department by telephone or in writing using the
address and numbers contained in this booklet. Additionally, you
may access and print the arbitration form from the DCP website at
the following address: www.ct.gov/dcp. Once you obtain the
arbitration form, complete it and forward to the Department as
soon as possible with the required $50.00 fee.




Do | have to notify the manufacturer or leasing
company?

Of course, you should report the vehicle’s problems immediately
to the dealer or the manufacturer. Check your owner’s manual/
warranty booklet for the address and telephone number of the
zone office designated to receive your complaint. The booklet will
also tell you if the manufacturer requires written notification of a
claim requesting a refund or replacement vehicle. If such
notification is required, you must write to the manufacturer.
Include a copy of your letter to the manufacturer with your Lemon

Law application.

If you lease your vehicle, you must advise the leasing company
you are applying for Lemon Law arbitration and if they wish to be
a party to the proceedings, they must advise the Department of
their intent within ten (10) days of their receipt of your letter. The
letter to the leasing company must be sent certified or registered
and a copy of the letter and postal receipt must be included with

your application.

Is there a charge?

Yes. The law requires that you pay a $50.00 filing fee when you
submit your request for arbitration. If it is determined that your
case does not qualify for arbitration, the fee will be returned to
you. Additionally, the manufacturer is required to pay a fee of
$250.00.

Please note the last page of the application, “Request to
Arbitrate,” which is a checklist. All of the items listed on the
checklist MUST be included with the application form as
collectively, they complete the application package.



How soon will I know whether | qualify?

The Department reviews your Request for Arbitration to make
sure all necessary documents have been submitted. If information
has been omitted, your Request for Arbitration and filing fee will
be returned to you along with a list of the information or
documents required to complete the submission. If all documents
and information have been included, the Department will complete
an initial review of your case to determine whether basic eligibility
criteria have been met. You will be notified within five business
days of the results.

If the Department’s review indicates your case is not eligible for
arbitration, your filing fee will be returned to you with an
explanation as to why your case did not qualify.

If the Department’s review indicates your case is eligible for
arbitration, the manufacturer will be notified and asked to submit a
manufacturer’s statement and filing fee.

The arbitrator will make the final determination as to the eligibility
of your case. It is possible for a case to be deemed ineligible by
the arbitrator even though it was initially deemed eligible by the
department.

Who is the arbitrator?

An arbitrator is a person trained in the settlement of disputes. All
arbitrators have completed a training program before being
appointed. All documents pertaining to the case are forwarded to
the arbitrator prior to your scheduled hearing.

An Automotive Technical Expert is also assigned to all oral
hearings and acts as advisor and consultant to the arbitrator.



Type of hearings

When you file your Request for Arbitration, you must choose
between an “oral” or “documentary” hearing. The oral arbitration
process generally results in a more expeditious rendering of a
decision.

Oral hearing

If you choose oral arbitration, you and the manufacturer’s
representative will be present at the scheduled hearing. Both
parties will have the opportunity to present their case before the
arbitrator.

The hearing is not structured like a court of law. Typically, the
consumer is heard first, followed by the manufacturer. Either party
is able to ask the other questions. The arbitrator may also have
qguestions and may order the Automotive Technical Expert to
inspect the vehicle. If possible, bring the vehicle to the hearing to
avoid having to schedule an inspection for a later date.

How should | prepare for an oral arbitration hearing?

Use your “Request for Arbitration” form as a guide. The form
contains much of the information you will need at the hearing.

Bring records of everything pertaining to the dispute including
all correspondence, work orders, receipts, and warranties.

Organize your records — Putting them in chronological order
will help guide you in presenting the history of the problem.

You may bring witnesses and/or any documentation you feel
necessary to support your allegations.



Prepare an outline - Outlining the major points you wish to
present will help you to remember relevant information.

Be prepared to discuss the problem in its entirety -You
should:

1. State the specific nature of the defect;
Restate any conversations with dealer’s or manufacturer’s
representatives;

3. Describe any new developments which may have occurred

since you submitted your “Request for Arbitration” form;

Describe any repair attempts or other actions taken;

State your opinion as to what action would constitute a fair

resolution of the dispute;

6. State why you feel the vehicle is a “lemon.” For example, how
has the use, safety, and/or value been substantially impaired?

7. Prepare a list of questions to ask the manufacturer’s
representative.

8. Prepare a final summary, which should briefly review the facts
you have discussed. This should include a statement
regarding your opinion of a fair resolution to the dispute.

o~

REMEMBER: The purpose of the hearing is to
allow the arbitrator to gather facts, evaluate
information presented by both sides and
render a fair decision. Therefore, be prepared
to offer SUBSTANTIAL PROOF of each point
you make, especially those you feel the
manufacturer may dispute, as the burden of
proof is on YOU, the consumer.




Documentary hearing

If you request a documentary arbitration hearing, you and the
manufacturer’s representative will be required to submit to the
Department sworn statements and other evidence you would like
the arbitrator to consider. You will receive copies of each other’s
statements and have the opportunity to respond to them in writing.

The arbitrator will review the statements and responses, and will
base the decision solely on documentation and materials sub-
mitted by the parties prior to the hearing. Parties cannot present
oral testimony, but may observe documentary hearings. If the
arbitrator orders a vehicle inspection, one will be scheduled at a
later date and the arbitrator will render the decision after reviewing
the vehicle inspection report.

Although you may have initially requested a documentary hearing,
the manufacturer must agree in writing in order to proceed. If the
manufacturer objects to a documentary hearing, the hearing will
proceed as an oral hearing, as described on page 6.

If you cannot attend your hearing, you may arrange for an
attorney or third party to represent you.

Will | need an attorney?

The Lemon Law Program is designed to be accessible to the lay
person. A majority of consumers coming through the program do
not use an attorney; however, you are free to use one if you
choose. If your attorney will be presenting your case, you must
notify the Department of Consumer Protection no later than two
(2) days prior to the hearing.

Also, if anyone other than the purchaser of the vehicle will be
presenting the case, you must also notify the Department no later
than one (1) day prior to the hearing. If someone is going to
accompany you and present testimony, no prior notification is
required. You also have the right to have a third party assist you in
your presentation or act as a consultant or interpreter.
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My vehicle meets the definition of a “Lemon”
and my case has been accepted for
arbitration. Do | automatically get a refund or

replacement vehicle?

The law provides basic guidelines for remedies, but there is no
fixed rule. Each case is treated individually by the arbitrator when
determining an award. If the decision is in your favor, the award
will generally be:

A replacement with a comparable new car.
OR

A refund of the contract price. An arbitrator may or may not award
a mileage deduction for the use that you have had of the vehicle.
The statutory mileage deduction is computed by multiplying the
present mileage of the vehicle times the contract price and
dividing that figure by 120,000. Refund or replacement awards
may also include reimbursement for other damages or costs. We
advise you to have receipts.

If the arbitrator finds the defects in question do not substantially
impair the use, safety or value of the vehicle, a “no action”
decision is rendered. Your recourse at this point would be to seek
legal counsel for private litigation against the manufacturer.

When can | expect an arbitration decision?

The Department strives to resolve disputes within 60 days from
the date the completed form is received to the date a decision is
reached. Once the arbitrator renders the decision, it cannot be
changed or modified, either by the arbitrator or the Department.



What if I'm dissatisfied with the arbitration
decision?

In most cases, the decision of the arbitrator will be final. You will
not be able to appeal the decision to the court except under very
limited circumstances. Therefore, if you are considering taking
legal action against the manufacturer of your automobile, you
should consult with a private attorney before signing the
Agreement to Arbitrate. The best way to find out how to appeal a
decision is to consult with an attorney.

When can | expect the manufacturer to
comply with an arbitration award?

The written decision will state the exact date for performance. The
arbitrator will make every effort to see that the problem is resolved
at the earliest possible date. The Department will contact you
within ten (10) days after the performance date to determine if the
manufacturer has complied with the arbitrator’s decision. If the
manufacturer has not complied with the award, the case is

referred to the Office of the Attorney General.
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What if | request arbitration, but the
manufacturer and | resolve the problem

on our own?

You are free to reach a settlement through your own efforts at any
time before the arbitrator render the decision. If this happens, you
must contact the Department with the specific terms of the

decision settlement. The information should include the following:

1. The date on which you accepted the manufacturer’s offer of a
pre-hearing settlement.

2. The specific terms of the pre-hearing settlement:

Was there a refund, replacement, repair or other remedy?
Who will pay for the difference in model/year upgrade?
How much will it be?

Will there be a deduction for mileage?

Who is responsible for the registration of the new vehicle,
including the cost of registration?

Who is responsible for the difference in sales tax?

If the settlement is a repair, what will happen if the repair
does not work?

What type of warranty will be given with the replacement
or repair?

What monies is the consumer responsible for?

What monies is the manufacturer responsible for?

3. The date by which the terms of the decision settlement will
occur.

Before you accept an agreement from the manufacturer make
sure all costs are in writing. This will avoid any problems or
“hidden costs” when the exchange takes place. The Department
has no jurisdiction over a pre-decision settlement.

11



If we reach an agreement on our own but the
manufacturer then does not meet the terms,

what should | do?

Notify the Department of Consumer Protection, Lemon Law Unit in
writing, if the terms of your settlement are not met within a
specified time frame. At that point, the State arbitration process
may resume and a new hearing date scheduled. Keep in mind,
the Lemon Law legislation does not cover settlements made
between a consumer and manufacturer prior to a decision by the
arbitrator.

Certified manufacturer’s programs

If your manufacturer has an arbitration program that has been
certified by the Office of the Attorney General, you will be required
to use that program before you can be eligible for the Lemon Law
arbitration program. As of this printing no third party dispute
resolution program has been certified by the Office of the Attorney
General.

If you are injured by a procedure of a certified Manufacturer’s
program, you may file a complaint with the Office of the Attorney
General. You may appeal to the state arbitration panel for a new
hearing. The fees and procedures are the same as outlined earlier
for arbitration hearings.

Non-certified manufacturers’ programs

Some manufacturers offer non-certified arbitration programs. If
this is the case, you have the option of using that program or
bringing your case directly to the Department of Consumer
Protection. Before you decide to use a non-certified program, be
sure you understand all the consequences of your entering into
the program, including possible loss of rights to seek further
remedies. Check your warranty book to see if your manufacturer
participates in a third party dispute resolution program.
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Your Right to Know...

Posted notices in dealerships

If any manufacturer does not have an arbitration program certified
by the Attorney General, then a conspicuous notice of the State-
operated arbitration program must be prominently displayed in all
car dealerships. Keep in mind, the Lemon Law Arbitration
Program is designed for consumers and manufacturers, not
dealerships.
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Owner’s Resource List

Department Of Consumer Protection

Automotive Dispute Settlement Program
165 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106
1-800-538-CARS (860) 713-6120

Information on Consumer Class Action

Litigation in Auto Cases
Center for Auto Safety
2001 S.Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20009 (202) 328-7700

Legal Referrals
Connecticut Bar Association
30 Bank Street
New Britain, CT 06050 (860) 223-4400

Information on Auto Recalls or Safety Defects
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
Office of Public Affairs & Consumer Service

400 Seventh Street SW

Washington, DC 20590 1-800-424-9393
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The state in which the vehicle was purchased/ leased determines
which state’s Lemon Law Program you may be eligible for, not the
state in which you reside. The criteria provided in this booklet
pertain only to Connecticut. If you purchased or leased your
vehicle in another state, check with that state for eligibility
requirements.

State Agencies

State of Connecticut

Department of Consumer Protection
Automobile Dispute Settlement Program
165 Capitol Avenue

Hartford, CT 06106

(Connecticut Only)

1-800-538-CARS

(860) 713-6120

State of Rhode Island

Office Of the Attorney General
150 South Main St.
Providence, RI. 02903

(401) 274-4400

State of Massachusetts

Consumer Coordinator

Executive Office of Consumer Affairs
One Ashburton Place

Room 1411

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 727-7780

State of New York

Chairperson & Exec. Director

New York State Consumer Protection Board
99 Washington Avenue

Albany, NY 12210

(518) 474-8583
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The Lemon Law Program
is offered by the
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection

The Department s mission is to ensure a fair and equitable marketplace, safe
products and services for consumers in the industries that we license, regulate
and enforce.

We do this through licensing and regulating many types of businesses and
workers, monitoring the marketplace, and protecting consumers and
individuals doing business in the state of Connecticut.

Each year the Department issues more than 200,000 licenses, permits and
registrations for over 200 types of jobs and businesses. We maintain official
information on many types of companies, track consumer issues, and
investigate and intervene if we find a company doing something illegal, or
consistently causing problems for its customers.

We oversee food and beverage industries, to ensure safety and wholesomeness.
We regulate gasoline retailers and home heating fuel dealers, and oversee the
production and distribution, and all prescription medication in the state.

In order to keep Connecticut residents safe from unfair businesses and unsafe
products, we monitor and remove tainted, fraudulent and dangerous products
from store shelves. We work to keep alcoholic beverages away from minors and
intoxicated persons, and we prevent the illegal sale or prescribing of medicine.

We enforce many federal and state laws, investigate consumer complaints and
mediate disputes between consumers and the businesses that sell to them.

1t is our privilege to protect and serve the residents of Connecticut.

Please feel free to contact the Department of Consumer Protection online at
www.ct.gov/dep or call us at 1-800-842-2649.

For further information on the Lemon Law, please contact
the Lemon Law Unit at
(860) 713-6120 or (800) 538-CARS

Forms and information can also be found
at www.ct.gov/dcp under “Lemon Law”




