DMV: Frequently Asked Questions on Drivers' Licenses and Learners' Permits

Frequently Asked Questions on 
Drivers' Licenses and Learners' Permits

How do I change my address for license/registration?
Please see Change of Address.

How do I replace my license, learner's permit or non-driver identification card (ID)?
Please see Requirements to Replace a Driver's License, Learner's Permit or Non-Driver ID.

I have moved out of state.  How do I get verification of my Connecticut license/ registration?  Please see Obtaining Verification of your Motor Vehicle Operator's License or Registration.

Can I wear a head covering or dark glasses when taking my driver's license or non-driver ID card photograph?

No, headgear or dark glasses cannot be worn. The only exceptions are for persons who have a sincere religious belief or persuasion that does not allow them to remove headgear or for medical reasons.

Do I need to provide my social security number when applying for a new driver's license, learner's permit or non-driver ID card?
Yes, in accordance with the Social Security Act 42 U.S.C. 666 (a) (13), it will be required that the social security number of any person applying for a new Driver's License, Learner's Permit or Non-Driver Identification Card be recorded on the application.  If you do not have a social security number, you must obtain a letter from the Social Security Administration that states you are ineligible for a social security number.  This letter must be submitted to DMV when applying for your driver's license, learner's permit or ID card.

Do I have to provide DMV with a picture of myself to apply for a driver's license or a learner's permit?
No, a picture is not necessary. 

What if I fail my vision test?  If you fail the vision test, you will not be able to proceed to the knowledge test and be required to reschedule.

What if I fail my on-the-road skills test?
If you fail the road test you must wait a minimum of two weeks (14 days) before taking the road test again and must repay the License Exam Fee.

I have had my vision corrected. Can I have the restriction removed from my driver's license?
Yes, it will be necessary to visit your local DMV Hub Office  with your current driver's license and complete an eye exam, if you no longer require the restriction on your license, a new license without the restriction will be issued for a Duplicate License Fee.

I have heard the legal age to obtain a license in Connecticut is going to change, is this true?
The legal age to obtain a license in Connecticut has not changed, it is still 16 years old.

I am a visitor from out of country with an out of country driver's license, what do I need to be able to drive Connecticut?
Please see International Driver Permits.

I am from out of country and want to obtain a Connecticut driver's license. What is the procedure?
Please see Requirements for Naturalized and Non-U.S. Citizens.

I have identity documents that are not in English.  Do I have to get the documents translated into English?
Yes, please see more information on DMV-approved translators.

How do I obtain a learner's permit?
Please see Obtaining a Learner's Permit.

I would like to obtain a Connecticut non-driver ID card. What is the procedure?
Please see Connecticut Non-Driver Identification Cards.

How can I see if I have points or violations on my driving record?
Please see Obtaining a Copy of Your Driving History.

I received a ticket out of state. What happens to my Connecticut license?
Please contact our Operator's License Suspension Telephone Center at 860-263-5720.

Where can I go to get my license restored?
Please contact our Operator's License Suspension Telephone Center at 860-263-5720.

How do I get a public service license?
Please see our Public Passenger Endorsement information page.

How do I make an appointment for my driver's license test?
Please see Taking the Vision and Knowledge Tests.

I am in the military and am currently stationed abroad. I cannot come home to renew my drivers license; what can I do?
Please see Requirements to Obtain a License Through the Mail.

I am now married.  How do I change my name on my driver's license and vehicle registration(s)?  Change of name information.





Content Last Modified on 9/25/2014 3:19:14 PM