Minors Registering a Vehicle
Connecticut law allows minors to register vehicles if they are at least 16 years of age.
What to do:
- Complete Certificate of Parental Consent (form 2D)
- The form must be Notarized and signed by a parent or legal guardian for all applicants that are 16 or 17 years old.
Note: When an owner under the age of 18 is registering a non-passenger motor vehicle (i.e.: motorcycle, trailer, some pickup trucks, etc.) in the State of Connecticut, special insurance called Proof of Financial Responsibility must be obtained from your insurance company, in accordance with Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-14. This insurance must be on file at the Department of Motor Vehicles before the vehicle can be registered. Please call 860-263-5152 to verify the filing before proceeding to the DMV.
Content Last Modified on 2/5/2013 2:59:46 PM