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Questions and Answers       September 19, 2007 
 
 
1.  Is this a new program or an expansion of existing programs? 

 
This is not a new program.  It is a program that has been in place since the law 
became effective (1995). A goal of this RFP is to enhance and improve the SATP 
by obtaining a wide range of proposals and ideas for the curriculum, manner of 
counseling, facilities, communications, and all other administrative aspects of the 
SATP.  

 
2. a. If existing, where are the current programs and who are the providers?  
 

There presently are two providers: 
 

The Commonwealth Group’s main office is in Manchester. 
The Commonwealth holds Phase I in Manchester and Vernon and holds Phase II 
and Phase III in Manchester, Vernon, Norwich, North Haven and Southbury 

 
Connecticut Renaissance, Inc.’s main office is in Norwalk. 
Connecticut Renaissance holds all three phases at its Bridgeport facility 

 
b. How many slot/beds are funded? 
 

There are no funded slots/beds.   
 

3. If existing, what is DMV’s experience in the number of participants on a yearly basis 
(broken down by phase) statewide? 
 

The Commonwealth Group indicates that as of July 31, 2007, 
            6728    clients have enrolled in their program 

4749 clients have completed all three phases of the program 
 
  Connecticut Renaissance indicates that as of July 31, 2007, 

1295 clients have enrolled in their program 
1237  clients have completed all three phases of the program. 

 
Figures cover program initiation through July 31, 2007. 

 
4. What is the current cap on the allowable program fee? 

  
The current caps are as follows:  

      The Commonwealth Group is $865. 
   Connecticut Renaissance is $900. 
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5. What is the anticipated projection of need by town/city? 
 

There are no statistics available as to projected need by town/city. 
 
6. What happens if a participant cannot pay for the services? 
 

Under the provisions of Section 14-227f-5 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies (RCSA), the treatment program shall be paid for by the client; and 
payment may be required by the provider in advance of the program, or any 
component thereof. 

 
The providers submitting their requests for approval of a fee have the option of 
including a designated additional amount above actual costs, which shall be used by 
the provider to assist clients who prove indigence. 

 
7. a. How are start-up costs handled?   

 
Start-up costs are the sole responsibility of the provider. 

 
      b. Does DMV provide for any start-up money?  

 
No, the DMV does not provide any start-up money. 

 
8. Is there a requirement that the SATP (and program site) be licensed by the Department of 

Public Health? 
 

The provider does not need to be licensed; however, the substance abuse counselors 
must be certified/licensed by the Department of Public Health. 

 
9. Are providers required to have a physician on staff or just the ability to make referrals? 

 
Under the provisions of Section 14-227f-10(2) of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies (RCSA), the Phase 1 component of the program shall have 
immediate access to a licensed physician. (See question 26) 

 
10. If the participant has insurance, are they able to use their own physician? 

 
In Section 14-227f-4(a)(1) of the RCSA, if a complete physical examination is 
required by a licensed physician, it is the responsibility of the client, and is paid for 
by the client.  In those circumstances, the client may use any licensed physician 
who is qualified to do a complete physical examination, and payment of that 
physician’s fee is between the physician and the client.  This may also apply if it is 
recommended that the client receive additional medical treatment (not of an 
immediate nature) in accordance with Section 14-227f-4(b)(3) of the RCSA.  That 
additional treatment is the responsibility of the client.   
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11. Is there a minimum number of treatment hours required in Phase I? 
 

The provisions of Section 14-227f-4(2) of the RCSA are silent as to the total 
number of treatment hours that must be administered during Phase I; however, this 
section does provide, as follows:   “…(2) A program with the clients in an 
environment which is segregated from other persons and activities for a period of 
48 consecutive hours, which period shall include appropriate time and reasonable 
accommodations for meals, sleep and other necessary personal functions.” 

 
12. Is Phase III the only phase where urinalysis is required? 
 

No, Phase III includes blood and/or urine screening at random intervals as 
recommended by the provider.  In addition, Section 14-227f-4(g) of the RCSA 
states that each client who enrolls in a treatment program shall agree to submit to a 
blood, breath or urine test upon request by the provider at any time during the 
program; and failure to take such test when so requested shall result in dismissal 
from the program, except that a client may decline to take a blood test, and a test of 
another type may then be required. 

 
13. Can a provider use breathalyzers and/or saliva test for the random drug-testing 

requirement? 
 

Section 14-227f-4(g) of the RCSA defines the manner of tests that may be 
administered. Breathalyzers are included; saliva tests are not.  

 
14. If a client is unsuccessfully dismissed from the program due to a positive drug screen, is lab 

confirmation of the positive result required? 
 

Neither the Regulations nor the RFP refer to a “lab confirmation.”    Each client 
who enrolls in a treatment program must agree to submit to a blood, breath or urine 
test upon request by the provider at any time during the program. If a drug 
screening is done, there will be a print-out of the results, or a report of the results 
from the person who analyzed the sample. The records of any lab testing should 
remain in the client’s record, and may be relied on by the provider to take any 
action required.  

 
15. Are the “Contractor Agreement” and the “Certificate of Completion” (referenced on page 

10) required to be submitted with the response or is this something that would need to be 
provided only if awarded a contract? 

 
These must be submitted with the response.  

 
16. a. Is the 1:10 counselor/client ratio for the residential portion only? 

 
No, the 1:10 counselor/client ratio applies to all Phases of the program 
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b. Can counselors have a mix of Phase I and Phase II/III clients? If so, is the ratio 

adjusted? If so, how is it calculated? 
   

No, Phase I and Phase II/III clients cannot be combined.  
 

17.  a. Do clients get to pick which provider/program they attend?   
 

Yes, clients have the option of selecting the provider/program they attend.  
 

             b. How far in advance will a provider get referrals?   
  
  Providers receive weekly referrals. 
 

c. Is there an expected timeframe in which referrals must be admitted to the program (e.g. 
within 48 hours)? 

 
No, there is not an expected timeframe.  

 
18. Can the services be provided by non CADC/LADC providers, such as LCSWs with 

training in substance abuse? 
 

The regulations require that all three phases of the DMV SATP program be 
conducted by persons who are certified/licensed substance abuse counselors under 
the provisions of Section 20-74s of the Connecticut General Statues (CGS). 

 
19. Can a provider partner with another provider to do the three phases? 

 
Submitted proposals must provide all required details to explain how the three 
program phases will be conducted and meet the requirements as outlined.   

 
20. Can the client in Phases II and III be integrated in with other clientele? 

 
No, clients in Phases II and III cannot be integrated in with other clientele.  

 
21. What is the volume/number of referrals? 

 
DMV mails approximately 5000 notices annually to persons who must complete the 
program prior to restoration of their licenses.  

 
22. Can the physical assessment be performed by someone other than an MD? If yes, who? 

 
The assessment contemplated on intake is in the nature of a screening, not a 
physical exam.  It is done by a certified counselor. Physical exams must be done by 
a licensed physician.    
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23. Please describe the requirements of the psychological evaluation in greater detail.  Must 
this evaluation be completed by a license psychologist? 

 
Under Section 14-227f-4(a)(1) of the RCSA the assessment is to be made by a 
certified counselor. 

 
24. What is the required staff: client ratio for overnights in Phase I? 

 
1:10 

 
25. Are there any preferred staffing qualifications for overnight staff? 

 
The regulations do not separate daytime staffing qualifications from overnight 
staffing qualifications.  The regulations contemplate that a counselor is on staff.  

 
26. Phase I requires immediate access to a licensed physician. Please clarify what is meant by 

immediate access. 
 

“Immediate” means happening or done at first, at once, or without delay.  This 
implies that someone is “on-call” and available to see a client.  

 
27. Can we apply our agency’s sliding fee scale for clients? 

 
The fee charged any client cannot be more than that amount approved by the DMV. 

 
28. Does the DMV background check include staff that do not have direct contact with clients? 

 
Certified Counselors are required to submit information pertaining to any criminal 
record. A sworn (notarized) statement is required of any principal of a provider 
indicating whether s/he has a criminal record and, if so, a listing of the principal's 
name and each criminal offense.  The DMV will not conduct criminal background 
checks.    

 
29. In the qualifications section on page 3, the RFP states that a current driving record and 

criminal record be completed on each principal of the provider.  Since we are a non-profit 
and do not have principals, does this apply to us?  If so, what position within the 
organization would be considered a principal? 

 
Yes, it applies.  It would depend on how the non-profit is structured.  

 
 
30. Does the DMV have criteria that a client would have to meet to be considered indigent?  

Who makes the decision that a client is indigent, and what type of information/proof would 
a client have to submit to demonstrate indigence?  Do we have to admit persons classified 
as indigent into the program?  If so, how do we project the percentage of indigent clients, 
so that we can estimate the additional fees that would have to be paid by the non-indigent 
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clients to compensate for the revenue losses from the indigent clients?  Alternatively, has 
DMV considered paying the providers directly for the cost of services delivered to indigent 
clients?  This is a model that we currently use in Fee for Service contracts with CSSD. 

 
Section 14-227f-10 permits the provider to designate an additional amount to be 
added to program fees for clients who prove indigence.  There are no standards or 
criteria in the statute or regulations governing SATP which may be used to establish 
indigence. The Regulations contemplate this as a matter for the provider.  As a 
reference, section 52-259b of the Connecticut General Statutes establishes criteria 
for the determination of indigence in order to be considered for a fee waiver in civil 
and criminal matters before a court.   

 
DMV has not considered paying providers directly for the cost of services delivered 
to indigent clients. 

 
31.  a. In regards to the scheduling, supplying and compensation of language interpreters, how 

many languages do we need to accommodate?  
 

Any requested language needs to be accommodated.  
 

       b. Can we charge the client for the cost of the interpreter?   
 

Scheduling, supplying and compensation of a language interpreter is the 
responsibility of the provider and costs of providing such interpreter is the 
responsibility of the provider. Interpreter costs cannot be charged the client.   

 
c. Would the option of allowing to bring a family member or friend to act as an interpreter 
meet the requirement of the DMV? 

 
It is the prerogative of a provider if they wish to allow a client to bring a family 
member/friend with them to act as interpreter.  If a hearing impaired person wishes 
an interpreter, the provider would be required to contact the State Commission on 
the Deaf and Hearing Impaired regarding interpreter arrangements and payment 
therefor. 

 
32. The proposed communication section of the RFP says the provider will be required to 

electronically transmit data to the DMV.  By electronic transmission, do you mean e-
mailing protected spreadsheets and/or documents or an electronic data interface? 

 
As indicated in the RFP, the proposal shall include a proposed reporting format and 
schedule.  

 
33.  a. When a program becomes a certified provider of the SATP, how quickly do services 

need to be up and running?   
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The Proposal should include information pertaining to how quickly a provider can 
begin conducting services.   

 
b. Does the DMV envision an automatic decertification of providers that do not begin 
delivering services in a timely manner, or will providers who have been certified but do not 
actually provide services be allowed to retain their certification? 

 
Yes, the DMV does envision a decertification of providers who fail to meet any of 
the terms and conditions of their Agreement with the State.  

  
34. What is the typical yearly volume of individuals needing services? 
 

The department mails approximately 5000 SATP notices to licensed drivers who 
must complete the SATP.  

 
 

35.  a. What is the typical yearly volume overall of individuals requesting indigence status?  
 

Statistics may be available from current providers of those who have been granted a 
fee waiver or reduction due to indigence. DMV has no statistics regarding the 
volume of individuals requesting this status. 

 
 b. Is a sliding fee acceptable and can there be a cap of the number of clients accepted   

claiming indigence?  
 
The fee charged any client cannot be more than that amount approved by the DMV. 

 
36. Please expand on the expected role of the License Physician (page 6, #6(2)).  Is phone 

triage sufficient for the following “The Phase I component of the SATP shall have 
immediate access to a licensed physician”? 

 
“Immediate” means happening or done at first, at once, or without delay.  This 
implies that someone is “on-call” and available to see a client.  
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