Meeting Needs of Motorists with Innovation Since 1917

he Dealers and Repairers Division of the

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is

responsible for licensing motor vehicle
dealers and repairers in the State of Connecticut.
This division has the authority to ensure that
licensed dealers and repairers operate in
accordance with the laws and regulations relating
to the conduct of their business. If you as a
consumer feel you have been unfairly treated by a
dealer or repairer, you may file a complaint with
the Dealers and Repairers Division. Complaints
are utilized by the DMV in the investigation of its
licensees. You will be contacted by the DMV if
the licensee named in your complaint is
investigated. Complaints against licensees who
are not investigated remain in file for possible future
reference.

Private Sales and Repairs

Private Sales and Repairs (i.e., sales and repairs
not involving a licensed motor vehicle dealer or
repairer) fall outside the jurisdiction of the Dealers
and Repairers Division. Any problem you may have
with another private individual is a civil matter, and
we cannot provide legal advice in such matters. If
the cost involved does not exceed $3,500, you
should consider Small Claims Court. It is not
necessary to enlist the services of an attorney
since every aspect of the small claims session
has been designed to permit a person to handle
his or her own case from start to finish. Contact
your nearest municipal court for information on how
to bring a small claims action. If the money involved
exceeds $3,500, your case would be handled in
the regular civil docket, and you should consult
with an attorney.

If you have a complaint against a business, which
is not required to have a dealer or repairer license
(i.e., an upholstery shop, a tire shop, etc.) you
should contact:

Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Avenue

Hartford, CT 06106

Telephone: 1-800-842-2649

www.ct.gov/dcp

Filing a Complaint

Please be sure you contact the dealership or repair
shop regarding your dissatisfaction before filing a
complaint with the DMV. They must be given an
opportunity to resolve the problem.

In order to file a complaint against a dealer or
repairer, you must fill out a form called Complaint
Against Motor Vehicles Sales or Service Business
Firm (form K-35), which can be obtained in person
at any DMV branch office or can be sent to you at
your request (1-800-842-8222).

Note: Please see back of brochure for DMV office
locations.

It is very important that you follow the directions
on the K-35 form. Please include all telephone
information, including the number where you can
be reached weekdays between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30
p.m. It is essential that you include copies of all
paperwork related to your complaint (i.e., warranty,
invoice, repair bill, etc.). You should keep the
original paperwork.

Towing and Storage

The two most common complaints customers have
associated with vehicle towing and storage is being
overcharged and finding damage to the vehicle as
a result from towing.

The state regulates the amount you may be charged
for a nonconsensual tow. A nonconsensual tow
means the towing of a motor vehicle from private
property, (trespass tow) or for which arrangements
are made by order of a law enforcement officer or
traffic authority. Nonconsensual tow charges are
based on distance travelled and vehicle weight.

According to the Connecticut State Law, storage
costs can be charged on the vehicle beginning eight
hours after the towing is completed. All towing
businesses must post storage charges.

If your vehicle has been damaged as a result of
improper towing by a licensed towing business and
you have been unable to reach agreement with the
towing business, contact the DMV’s dealer and
repairer division. You must provide some proof
(e.g., a police report) that the damage to your
vehicle was the direct result of negligent towing.

Vehicle Sales

According to Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec.
14-62, each sale of a motor vehicle requires a
properly prepared and signed invoice, a copy of
which shall be provided to the purchaser. Dealers
are required to indicate the conditions for refund of
deposits on the invoice. Three conditions are
possible: no refund of deposit, conditional refund
of deposit, or unconditional refund of deposit. The
DMV cannot require a dealer to refund your deposit
if your signed invoice states that you are not
entitled to a refund.

Used vehicles: A federal used car buyers guide
must be posted in the left rear window of a used
vehicle when it is displayed for sale. If the vehicle
is not specifically guaranteed, the dealer is still
responsible for all items on the vehicle necessary
for its legal operation on the roads of Connecticut.
If the vehicle does not meet the requirements for
legal operation at the time of sale, it can only be
sold legally if the transfer documents state that
the vehicle is unsafe to operate on the road. An
‘as is’ sale does not exempt the dealer from
responsibility for items necessary for legal
operation.

Connecticut law requires that your used vehicle
be mechanically operational and sound throughout
a warranty period, if you paid at least $3,000 to a
licensed dealer and the vehicle is 6 years old or
less. Please refer to the separate flyer,
‘Connecticut’'s Used Car Warranty Law.’



New vehicles: Most new vehicles are covered by
a factory (i.e., manufacturer’s) warranty. If the
same defect persists with your new car after
repeated repair attempts, the problem with your
new car may be classified as a ‘manufacturer’s
defect.” The problem then falls under the
Connecticut ‘Lemon Law’ and you should direct
your complaint to:

Department of Consumer Protection
Automobile Dispute Settlement Program
165 Capitol Avenue

Hartford, CT 06106

Telephone: 1-800-538-CARS

www.ct.gov/dcp

If you have a question concerning vehicle
recalls, you should contact:

National Highway Traffic Safety
Admin.

400 Seventh Avenue S.W.,
Washington, D.C. 20590
Telephone: 1-800-424-9393
www.nhtsa.dot.gov

Repairs

Authorization and Estimate: Connecticut law
requires that a repairer obtain a customer’s oral or
written authorization on any repair. If repairs exceed
$50, an estimate of the maximum cost to the
customer must be given. If you feel that the
estimate to repair your vehicle is too high do not
authorize the repair.

Improper Repairs: If you have a complaint about
a repair job (i.e., the repairer fixed the vehicle
incorrectly, the repairer failed to correct the stated
problem, the repairer caused further damage to
vehicle) it is important, in most cases, that the
DMV sees the original part in order to determine
its condition. A statement from another dealer or
repairer as to the problem may also be required.

The repairer must provide you with the replaced
part if you request it before or at the time the vehicle
is returned to you. You have the right to see rebuilt
or remanufactured parts (parts that the repairer
normally returns to the manufacturer) and you may
be able to purchase the replaced parts by paying

a‘core’ charge. Such a purchase is at the repairer's
option.

Receipts: Be sure to get an itemized receipt every
time you have a repair made, whether the repair is
under the warranty or not. These receipts will serve
as proof that attempts were made to repair the
vehicle during the warranty period. Such proof can
be especially important if your complaint is found
to be covered by the Lemon Law.

If you were given an estimate and you agreed to it
there is no DMV violation unless the garage
exceeds the original authorized estimate.

DMV Office Locations

Bridgeport, Danbury, Enfield, Hamden,
New Britain, Norwalk, Norwich, Old Saybrook,
Putnam, Stamford, Waterbury, Wethersfield,
Willimantic and Winsted

Full-Service Branch Office Hours
Tues., Wed., Fri.. 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Thursdays: 8am. -7pm.
Saturdays: 8 am. -12:30 p.m.

Winsted Office Hours

Tuesdays: 8 am. -4:30 p.m.
Thursdays: 8am. -7pm.
Saturdays: 8 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Putnam Office Hours

Tuesdays: 8 am. -4:30 p.m.
Thursdays: 8am.-7pm.
Saturdays: 8 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Stamford Office Hours
Tues., Wed., Fri.: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Willimantic Office Hours

Tuesdays: 8 am. -4:30 p.m.
Thursdays: 8am.-7pm.
Saturdays: 8 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

The Dealers and Repairers Division is located in
Room 102 of the Wethersfield Branch Office and
are open Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

For general information in the Greater Hartford
area, call 860-263-5700. Outside the Greater
Hartford area call toll free: 1-800-842-8222
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