Certain Employers Now Required To Furnish "State Copy" Of Each Federal Form W-2 To The Department On Magnetic Media
This Announcement clarifies information that was contained in a cover letter to Informational Publication (IP) 92 (10), Magnetic Media, which was recently mailed to certain employers who have 250 or more employees and who are withholding Connecticut income tax from wages paid to those employees.
Employers are required under the Income Tax Act to furnish to the Department the "State Copy" of the Federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, for each employee working in Connecticut or from whom Connecticut income tax was withheld. This "State Copy" must be furnished to the Department by the employer on or before the last day of the second month following the end of the taxable year of the employees. (For example, for employees whose accounting period for federal income tax purposes is the calendar year, the "State Copy" must be furnished to the Department by the employer to the employees on or before the last day of February for the preceding calendar year.)
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1992, every employer with 250 or more employees (wherever located) is required to furnish to the Department, on magnetic media, the "State Copy" of the Form W-2 for each employee working in Connecticut or from whom Connecticut income tax was withheld, even if fewer than 250 of these employees are working in Connecticut or having Connecticut income tax withheld. These employers may not furnish to the Department a paper "State Copy" of the Form W-2. This wage and tax information must be furnished by these employers by February 28, 1993. The magnetic media specifications are set out in IP 92 (10).
PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING NEW INFORMATION ABOUT DRS.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: To order forms and publications or for further information, call the Department of Revenue Services at 860-297-5962 (Hartford area or out-of-state) or 1-800-382-9463 (in-state). Forms and publications may be ordered through voice-mail 24-hours a day by choosing Option 3 on your touch tone telephone.
Electronic Delivery Options: You can also obtain tax forms and publications 24-hours a day from our Web home page at https://www.ct.gov/drs.
Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (TDD/TT) users only call 860-297-4911 during business hours.