
NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE STATE MEDICAID PLAN 
 
 
The Department of Social Services proposes to revise its Medicaid State Plan on or after 
April 1, 2011.  Under State Plan Amendment 11-006, the Department intends to modify 
Attachment 4.19-B of the Connecticut Medicaid State Plan in order to amend its 
physician fee schedule.   The Department proposes to amend the State Plan as follows: 
 

1) Add procedure code S2083 (Adjustment of gastric band diameter via 
subcutaneous port by injection or aspiration of saline).  The final fiscal 
impact for this change has not been determined; 

 
2) Increase the Medicaid fee for procedure code J7300 (Intrauterine copper 

contraceptive).  This amendment is expected to result in an estimated net 
savings of $47,000 in SFY11 and $159,000 in SFY12; and 

 
3) Add procedure code M0064 (Brief office visit for the sole purpose of 

monitoring or changing drug prescriptions used in the treatment of mental 
psychoneurotic and personality disorders).  The final fiscal impact for this 
change has not been determined.  

 
 
Copies of the proposed changes may be obtained at each of the DSS’s regional offices 
and on the DSS web site: www.dss.state.ct.us. Go to "Publications" and then to "News 
and Updates”.  For information please contact 860-424-5145.  

 
Written comments may be sent by March 29, 2011 to: 

Director of Medical Care Administration 
Department of Social Services 
25 Sigourney Street, 11th floor 
Hartford, CT  06106 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 
State   Connecticut  

 
  

 
(4) Physician’s services - fixed fee schedule not to exceed the Medicare physician fee 

schedule.  Fees may be deleted or added and priced in order to remain compliant 
with HIPAA or to correct pricing errors. The current fee schedule was set as of 
April 1, 2011 and is effective for services provided on or after that date.  The fee 
schedule for physicians can be accessed and downloaded by going to the 
Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com.  From 
this web page go to "Provider Services" then to "Fee Schedule Download."  All 
governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee 
schedule. 

 
(5) Medical care or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, 

furnished by licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by 
State law.  Fixed fee methodologies are summarized below.  Fees may be deleted 
or added and priced in order to remain compliant with HIPAA or to correct 
pricing errors.  

 
(a) Podiatrists – 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above.  The current fee 

schedule was set as of January 1, 2008 and is effective for services provided 
on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by 
going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: 
www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page go to "Provider Services" then to 
"Fee Schedule Download."  All governmental and private providers are 
reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. 
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(ii) Naturopaths – 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above.  The 
current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2008 and is effective 
for services provided on or after that date.  The fee schedule for 
naturopaths can be accessed and downloaded by going to the 
Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website:  
www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page go to "Provider 
Services" then to "Fee Schedule Download."  All governmental 
and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee 
schedule. 

 
(iii) Nurse practitioners – 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above.  

The current fee schedule was set as of April 1, 2011 and is 
effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee 
schedule for physicians can be accessed and downloaded by going 
to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: 
www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page go to "Provider 
Services" then to "Fee Schedule Download."  All governmental 
and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee 
schedule. 

 
(iv) Dental Hygienists - 90% of the department’s fees for dentists.  The 

fee schedule for dentists can be accessed and downloaded by going 
to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website:  
www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page go to "Provider 
Services" then to "Fee Schedule Download."  The agency’s rates 
were set as of April 1, 2008 and are effective for services on or 
after that date.  Rates are the same for private and governmental 
providers and are published at www.ctdssmap.com.  
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(17) Nurse-mid wife services - are paid off of the physician fee schedule at 90% of 

physician fees.  The agency’s physician fee schedule was set as of  April 1, 2011 and 
is effective for services provided on or after that date, except that fees may be deleted 
or added and priced in order to remain compliant with HIPAA.  The physician fee 
schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical 
Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com.  From this web page go to 
“Provider Services” then to “Fee Schedule Download”.  All governmental and private 
providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.   

 
(18) Hospice services – fees will equal Medicare fees for the same services in 

accordance with §1902(a)(13)(B) of the Social Security Act.  The rate setting 
methodology is in compliance with State Medicaid Manual 4306.  Total payments 
to a hospice are limited by the cap amount specified in 42CFR 418.309.  Payment 
to the hospice for inpatient care is limited in accordance with 42CFR 418.302(f).  
For clients living in a nursing facility, the per diem nursing facility rate will equal 
100% of the rate for that nursing home under the Medicaid program. 
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