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Website Overview .

Administrative Procedures Manual

Statutes and Requlation

Employer Info

Transmittal Software
Transmittal Manual
Key Contact Form

y




TR

3 Membership

TRB Criteria
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Membership

Terminology
and Rules



Public School
Educators

= Teachers
= Administrators

= Designated other

* Health Providers

» Guidance Counselors
» Media Specialists

* etC.

Membership
Status

= Active
= |nactive

= Annuity Reserve
(Inactive 25+ years)

= Deferred Vested

= Terminated
= Retired

= Disabled

= Deceased



Work an average of at least 50%

= At least half-day each day
» Varying schedule
» Full time = 900 hours annually

Leave of Absence (LOA)

= Unpaid
* No partial LOA
» Mandatory contributions from member
* Do not report on transmittal

» Paid (Sabbatical)
= $ from member to TRB ‘




Eligible Earnings

Pensionable Salary

Earnable Salary




Rules & timing 6% and 1.25%

1/10 of salary -

ACH/Wires -

Eligible Salary -

Pensionable Earnable —

Interest charges for late money & transmittals




FTE -

FT/PT -

Longevity -

Certification -

10 months -

1st working day of the month —




Retroactive adjustments

Financial Information -

= 10% of Annual Eligible Earnings

= Annual contract rate

= Eligible stipends (ex: longevity, Department Head,
extended year duties for health/welfare providers) but
excluding ineligible stipends (ex: extra duty)

» Not dependant upon timing of payroll




Voluntary Payroll Deductions -

= \Voluntary accounts deposits
= Service purchase contracts

$ Via Wire of Transfer or ACH -

» Required on monthly deposit
= As few as possible




ANSwers




Jureau of Educator Standards

Regulations Concerning




~ertification Language

avels of Certification

Initial Provisional Professional
Educator Educator Educator

Valid for 3 years » Valid for 8 years o Valid for 5 years

10 months of « 30 months of « Completion of
experience experience professional

BEST « Advanced course development: CEUs
R work as required or graduate level

3 years experience course work
In an approved non-
public school



Validity of Certificates

« May teach down to grade 5in a
Secondary departmentalized setting

Subjects » World languages may teach down to
grade 4

May teach in grade levels covered by
Early the certificate

childhood, May not teach up or down a grade

elementary, level
W [IER[EGE © ECE PK-Kregular/special education

1-3 reqular education only (GR1-3)




Duration
Shortage Area
Permits (DSAP)

Substitute
Teachers

Minor Coaching
Assignment Permits




Compliance Formula

Certified
Staff File
Information

Certification

Database Compliance

Report

(ED163) Information




Connecticut General Statues, Chapter 166,

Section 10-145

(@) No teacher, supervisor, administrator,
special service staff member or school
superintendent shall be employed in any of the
schools of any local or regional board of
education unless such person possesses an
appropriate state certificate nor shall any such
person be entitled to any salary unless such
person can produce such certificate dated
previous to or the first day or employment...




Connecticut General Statues, Chapter 166,

Section 10-145

(b) If the State Board of Education determines
that a local or regional board of education is not
In compliance with any provisional of sections
10-1440 to 10-149, inclusive, and section 10-
220a, the State Board of Education may require
the local or regional board of education to
forfeit of the total sum which is paid to such
board of education from the State Treasury an
amount to be determined by the State Board of
Education...




( . . pe . N

By October 1%, staff requiring certification entered on the
. certificated s!taﬁ file (ED163) .
Compliance Report run in December or January of current
. school year
4 . ! )
Compliance Report due back to SDE by January or February of
current school year )
R =
The Compliance Report reviewed in numerical order or in

chronological order )
R =

District sent letter once all iIssues have been resolved

E 2
By May 31%, the District Board Chairperson notified of any

ArtrtectanAinAa ~AAarmnlinan~ArA IcecriAnc

\




There are two unlisted assignments that
are to be used with prior authorization
from SDE, In cases where there is no
existing assignment code for a given

position. If pre-approved, these are not
compliance errors, but may become
errors.

— ™\ fF N\

Unlisted Teaching Unlisted Non-teaching
(990): used for (995): used for non-
teaching assignments || || teaching assignments




Red Flag Situations

l




Red Flag Situations

Student teaching placements for out of state students

]
R
]

» Transcript evaluation

Out of State Alternate Route

Out of State Certificate -

» Temporary or city certificate does not qualify for interstate
agreement




Red Flag Situations )
]

» Assessment requirements must be met prior to reissuance

Special Services ]

» School Psychologist versus Clinical Psychologist

Program and Required Experience .

» Remedial Reading
» Guidance
» Teaching experience or 10 month internship




Red Flag Situations )
Administatve

= Qut of state applicants must meet all course work, experience
and assessment requirements

Foreign Credentials ~

» Evaluation by Connecticut approved agency
» Bachelor’s degree, course work and assessments




.

» VR for general information through automated system
available 24 hours a day. 860-713-6969
Consultant support available: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, &
Friday from Noon to 4:.00 PM.

» Hot Line: technical support for authorized district staff only
860-713-6770. Available Monday, Wednesday, Friday from
8:00 AM to 4.00PM and Tuesday & Thursday from 8:00 AM to
Noon.

FAX

= (860) 713-7017




= teacher.cert@ct.gov

]

e —

= hitp://www.ct.qov/sde
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# / S of deposits by active members —|
One withdrawal during active career -

Actual Rate of Return (declared annually) -

On previous June 30 balance -

S must come from member
(directly, payroll deduction, or rollover)

Acceptable Payments & Dollar limitations -




AnnuaIIy as of June 30
Mailed in December to address on record -l
Returned statements are destroyed —l

Current status of demographics and beneficiaries




Information provided by BOE —l

Timely identification of questions is very important




Separated from prior IIM &;

service or terminated
employment with the
former employer

Active
members
must meet
one of the

4 three criteria

Used for 3 Member has

urchase of applied to retire

P .
L service In current school ‘
\/QAY



Funds transferred from Trustee to TRB

TRB issues receipt to member -




| Ouigong 2

—e

Use Application for Withdrawal form and specify

rollover _‘

TRB acknowledges to member -

Pre-tax money only -

TRB requires letter of acceptance from other state
retirement plans




!

| Ouigong 2

"

TRB requires approval of our withdrawal form by

rece|vmg Trustee

Issue at end of 3rd calendar month after receipt of
completed application _‘




TRB Criteria
for
Membership

Terminology

and Rules Transmittal

Process




What iIs it and how does it work ?

Where to send ? Trb.transmittal@po.state.ct.us

1

Tutorlal on how to Build
Exceptlons Reports -‘




Revisions & Amendments (who corrects & when)

How to correct -

Members and Unpaid Leaves

Demographlc Changes for Active Teachers (BOE)

Importance of SS# —‘
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