WPC: Steering Committee

Steering Committee on State Water Planning
The Steering Committee on State Water Planning was created following a recommendation from Project Manager Thomas Callahan at the 12/02/2014 WPC meeting.  The Steering Committee consists of the four WPC members, plus an additional 15 individuals in leadership roles with subject matter expertise.
The purpose of the Steering Committee is to guide and administer the development of the State Water Plan by establishing overall direction, priorities, and strategy.  The Steering Committee reports directly to the WPC.
On June 30, 2015, the Steering Committee held a public water planning "kickoff" workshop hosted by the University of Connecticut to discuss interests, concerns, and visions for the development of a State Water Plan.  The workshop was hugely successful at unifying the Steering Committee and launching the planning process with clear objectives.  Click here to download a summary of the workshop as approved by the WPC.
Current Status
Following the December, 2015 execution of an MOU between the WPC and the New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission (NEIWPCC), the Steering Committee is responsible for working with NEIWPCC to draft a Request for Proposals (RFP) and participate in the vendor selection process for the procurement of a State Water Plan.  It is anticipated that the RFP will be based on the research and recommendations of the Other States' Plans Workgroup.
Current members of the Steering Committee are:
  • Beth Barton
    • Day Pitney
  • John Betkoski
    • WPC Member, PURA
  • Larry Bingaman
    • South Central CT Regional Water Authority
  • Ellen Blaschinski
    • WPC Member, DPH
  • Chris Clark
    • Mohegan Tribe
  • Virginia de Lima
    • Science & Technical Workgroup Co-chair, USGS-scientist emerita
  • Samuel Gold
    • Lower CT River Valley COG
  • Bart Halloran
    • Metropolitan District Commission
  • Elin Katz
    • Office of Consumer Counsel
  • David LeVasseur
    • WPC Member, OPM
  • Gene Likens
    • Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
  • Andrew Lord
    • Lord Law LLC
  • Joe McGee
    • The Business Council of Fairfield County
  • Margaret Miner
    • WPC Advisory Group Co-chair, Rivers Alliance of CT
  • Robert Moore
    • Policy Workgroup Chair
  • Susan Stratton Sayre
    • Smith College, Department of Economics
  • Michael Sullivan
    • WPC Member, DEEP
  • Maureen Westbrook
    • WPC Advisory Group Co-chair, Connecticut Water Company
  • Julie Zimmerman
    • Yale University, Environmental Engineering
For further information about the Steering Committee, please send an email to:  wpc@ct.gov

Content Last Modified on 2/17/2016 10:23:25 AM