CTCDD: Membership and Support Committee Minutes for June 4, 2008

Membership and Support Committee Minutes for June 4, 2008


The eleventh meeting of the Membership and Support Committee of the CT Council on Developmental Disabilities was held on June 4, 2008 at the Office of Protection and Advocacy, Hartford.


Members Present:  Patricia Anderson; Tom McCann, Chair; and Anita Tremarche.


Absent:  Jousette Caro and Lisa Davis.


Excused Absence:  Sheila Crocker and Peter Morrissette, Vice Chair.


Staff:  Ed Preneta.


Mr. McCann opened the meeting at 10:00 a.m.




Mr. McCann moved to approve the minutes of July 18, 2007.  The minutes were approved by consensus.




Several Council members will be submitted for reappointment:

          Joyce Baker

          Larry Carlson

          Lisa Davis

          Kathryn duPree

          John Flanders

          Armand Legault

          Anita Tremarche

          Patricia Tyler


Several Council members have either resigned, will be retiring from the Council or do not wish to serve a second term:

          Bill Broadbridge

          Jousette Caro

          Carolyn Cartland

          Rajiv Root

          Chad Sinanian




Several people were interviewed to fill 3 parent vacancies and 4 self advocacy vacancies.  The following will parent be recommended for appointment:

          Paul Kachevsky will be recommended to succeed Jousette Caro as a representative of parents.

          Ms. Tremarche will interview 2 other parents to succeed Bill Broadbridge and Patricia Vidal. 


The following self advocates will be recommended for appointment:

          Steve Belske will succeed Rajiv Root.

          Bill Knight will succeed Chad Sinanian.

          Michael Leyva will succeed Carolyn Cartland

          Frank Reed will succeed Paul Seigel.


Chair and Vice Chair Ballot


The Committee also will issue a ballot seeking nominations for Council Chair and Vice Chair.  Cathy Adamczyk, the Councilís current Chair, and Armand Legault, the Councilís current Vice Chair, are both interested in keeping their seats.  The Committee will conduct the election at the Councilís September 16, 2008 meeting.


The meeting adjourned by consensus at 3:45 p.m.


                                                                   Respectfully submitted,




                                                                   Edward T. Preneta









Content Last Modified on 7/29/2009 1:55:14 PM