CTCDD: Membership and Support Committee Minutes for July 28, 2009

Membership and Support Committee Minutes for July 28, 2009


The twelfth meeting of the Membership and Support Committee of the CT Council on Developmental Disabilities was held on July 28, 2009 at the Office of Protection and Advocacy, Hartford.


Members Present:  Patricia Anderson; Paul Kachevsky, Tom McCann, Chair; Peter Morissette, Vice Chair, and Anita Tremarche.


Excused Absence:  Sheila Crocker and Lisa Davis.


Staff:  Ed Preneta.


Mr. McCann opened the meeting at 10:00 a.m.




Mr. McCann moved to approve the minutes of June 4, 2008. 


Ms. Anderson moved to approve the minutes of June 4, 2008.  Mr. Kachevsky seconded.  The minutes were approved unanimously.




Several Council members will be submitted for reappointment:

          Fred Frank

          Leo Germain

David King

          Jennifer Lortie

          Peter Morissette


Several Council members have either resigned, will be retiring from the Council or do not wish to serve a second term:

          Cathy Adamczyk

          Patricia Anderson

          Patricia Carrin

          Sheila Crocker

          Lisa Davis

          Mary Eberle

          John Flanders

          Jamie Graham

          Paul Kachevsky




Several people were interviewed to fill 6 parent vacancies, 2 state agency vacancies and 1 self advocacy vacancy. 


Mr. Kachevsky moved to authorize Mr. McCann to telephone interview and decide whether or not Mr. Piehl should be recommended for appointment.  Ms. Anderson seconded.  The motion passed unanimously.


The following will parents will be recommended for appointment:

          Maryann Lombardi to succeed Cathy Adamczyk.

          Sabra Mayo to succeed Patricia Carrin.

          Dwayne Paul to succeed Sheila Crocker.

          Alfred Piehl to succeed Mary Eberle.

          Leslie Prior to succeed John Flanders.

          A successor was not chosen to succeed Paul Kachevsky.


The following state agency representatives will be recommended for appointment:

          Rosa Biaggi, Title V/Maternal and Child Health, Department of Public Health to succeed Lisa Davis.

          Perri Murdica, Special Education, State Department of Education, to succeed Patricia Anderson.


The following self advocates will be recommended for appointment:

          Zuleika Martinez to succeed Jamie Graham.

          Sarah Rafala as an additional representative.


The Committee added the following:

          Monica Smyth to represent Ableist, a not-for-profit provider agency.


Applicants who were not recommended for appointment will be sent a letter thanking them for their interest.


If all are appointed, the CT Council will have 29 members:  12 self-advocates, 9 parents, 6 state agencies and 2 not-for-profit agencies.


Chair and Vice Chair Ballot


The Committee also will issue a ballot seeking nominations for Council Chair and Vice Chair.  Armand Legault, the Councilís current Vice Chair, is interested in serving as either Chair or Vice Chair.  The Committee will conduct the election at the Councilís September 22, 2009 meeting.




          The Committee discussed elements of an Orientation for all Council members to be held at the CT Councilís November 3, 2009 Council meeting.  Mr. Kachevsky will draft an outline of the topics to be addressed for distribution, discussion and amendment with Committee members. 


          The Committee also proposed modifications to the application for Council membership to clarify when parents and self-advocate applicants have a conflict-of-interest and modifications to the questions posed to applicants to generate discussion and to better apply to state agency representatives.


          Mr. McCann thanked the Committee for doing an excellent job.


The meeting adjourned by consensus at 3:00 p.m.


                                                                   Respectfully submitted,




                                                                   Edward T. Preneta









Content Last Modified on 11/2/2009 11:33:28 AM